A day in the city of Bath, England

One of the cities that I’ve been really looking forward to visiting during my trip to England would be Bath. A couple of years ago, I’ve stumbled upon photos of it and for a brief period of time, I was enamoured, not only because of its quirky name, but also because of the wonderful architecture and of course, the famed Roman Baths. So, I suppose I am glad to have finally seen Bath with my own two eyes – and even had the chance to go around the city too! ❤

Bath England UK Bath Abbey 02

The Abbey Church of Saint Peter and Saint Paul, although it is more commonly known as the Bath Abbey. It used to be a Roman Catholic Church, but like most (if not all!) churches in England, it is now an Anglican parish church.

Bath England UK Bath Abbey 00

Really love this kind of architecture. ❤ We didn’t go inside the Abbey though so no photos of the interior.

Bath England UK Roman Baths 01

Very near the Bath Abbey is the entrance to the Roman Baths, which is the main attraction in the city of Bath.

The entrance, which is above street level, dates from the 19th Century. The Roman Baths are actually located below modern street level.

Bath England UK 04

Entrance to the Roman Baths. This is the place where you will receive your audio guide.

Bath England UK Roman Baths 09

Said audio guide.

Bath England UK Roman Baths 10

The weather was a bit gloomy during our visit, but thankfully it didn’t rain!

Bath England UK Roman Baths 08

View of the Great Bath. The entire second level (where I stood to take this shot) was actually created years, or well, centuries after the Great Bath itself.

Bath England UK Roman Baths 07

The Great Bath again. You’re not allowed to touch the water though as it’s not really well-kept.

Bath England UK Roman Baths 11

Bladud Gorgon head, one of the numerous artefacts that are being showcased inside the museum part of the attraction.

Bath England UK Roman Baths 13

A head taken from a statue, its body nowhere in sight.  It’s of the goddess Sulis Minerva, and this gilt bronze head was discovered nearby in 1727.

Bath England UK Roman Baths 14

One of the many baths of the place.

Bath England UK Roman Baths 15

Bath England UK Roman Baths 16

You can spot the Bath Abbey from here. Anyway, unlike the smaller bath, there’s no steam rising from the Great Bath.

Bath England UK Roman Baths 17

Oops. Spot anyone you know? 😀

Bath England UK Roman Baths 19

Sally Lunn’s. This is supposedly bath’s oldest house as it stood in this place since 1483. Not only that but this house is also home to the famous Sally Lunn Bun (which is a type of semi-sweet bread) and tearoom. Too bad we didn’t have the time to buy any!! 😦

Bath England UK Roman Baths 20

Interesting-looking art piece that stood outside a hotel in Bath.

Bath England UK Royal Crescent 21

The Royal Crescent! This is also one of the iconic places in Bath I’ve known about for years now, and one that I’ve wanted to visit ever since I first saw photos of it on the internet. Jane Austen actually stayed in one of the houses during her visits to the place.

Bath England UK Circus 22

And this one is the Circus! If you ask me, I think that the architecture and design is quite similar to the Royal Crescent.

Bath England UK Circus 23

Other side.

Bath England UK Royal Crescent 24

At this point, I was already tired from all the walking, haha.

Bath England UK Royal Crescent 25

Cute doggie! I wasn’t able to stop myself and I just had to approach it. I think it’s a Shiba Inu – first time I’ve seen the breed so yep, I was excited haha!

Anyway, that’s it for my post about Bath! Yes, I’m almost done with my UK series of posts. ❤

9 thoughts on “A day in the city of Bath, England

  1. Someday I hope to visit Bath and do what all you’ve done! Possibly make a trip to Stonehenge too. I like your post! Do check my blog out too if you can. I’d love to hear what you think. Happy and safe travels! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for dropping by! ❤ Yes, Bath's a really interesting place to visit when in the UK! Also, Stonehenge is definitely an attraction not to be missed as well.
      Also, will definitely check out your blog! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

