St. Paul’s Cathedral and Westminster Abbey, London

St Paul's Cathedral 02

There were various places that we visited during our trip to London, and for this post, I’m going to write about our trip to St. Paul’s Cathedral and Westminster Abbey. As photography is not allowed inside both of these churches, I only took exterior shots of the place. Nevertheless, I think I managed to get some pretty nice and decent ones. 😀

Hidden amongst the leaves you can spot the dome of St. Paul’s Cathedral.

St Paul's Cathedral 03

Some parts seem to be under renovation. Still, I can’t help but admire the beautiful architecture of the place! The Cathedral is the great work of Sir Christopher Wren as he was hired to rebuild the place after the Great Fire. He is actually buried inside the Cathedral and the epitaph on his tomb reads:
“Si monumentum requiris circumspice

(If you seek his monument, look around.)

St Paul's Cathedral 04

It’s such an imposing structure.

St Paul's Cathedral 06

The inside is so lovely! As I have mentioned, photography isn’t allowed inside so I wasn’t able to take any photos. Still, I think that St. Paul’s is definitely worth a visit if you’re around the area.

Westminster Abbey 00

After spending an hour at most in St. Paul’s Cathedral, we headed off to visit a different church. We ended up at Westminster Abbey. Again, I can’t help but be in awe of it. It’s such a pretty building!

Westminster Abbey and Big Ben

Ooops. Can you spot Big Ben? 😀

Westminster Abbey 01

Westminster Abbey’s huge! I felt a bit giddy as we went around the place as there were a lot of famous people buried there. For me the most notable were that of Isaac Newton, Charles Darwin, the siblings Mary and Elizabeth, as well as Mary, Queen of Scots. Inside Westminster Abbey you can also find the tomb of the unknown warrior which holds an unknown British soldier who was killed on the battlefield during the First World War. It’s actually one of the first example of a Tomb of the Unknown Soldier.

Religious or not, I think that both St. Paul’s Cathedral and Westminster Abbey are places that are worth visiting at least once. Not only for the astounding architecture, but to be able to see for yourself the rich history and culture that you can find within the walls of these places. Still, can’t help but feel just a tad bit sad though that you can’t take photos inside! :’)

6 thoughts on “St. Paul’s Cathedral and Westminster Abbey, London

  1. Siyana

    I really wanted to go into the Cathedral when I was in London, but I felt so disappointed when I saw there was a fee to pay. I mean, I’m not against paying for using stuff, I just don’t think everyone should be obligated to pay in order to enter into a church. Anyway, just my thoughts – glad you enjoyed your trip 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Nicole Post author

      Yep! I noticed that for most of the churches that we visited (like York Minster, Rosslyn, and I think Westminster also), there’s a fee that you have to pay to go in. I’m not sure how much the fees are since it’s already included in our tour. For me, I think as long as the fees go to a ‘good’ cause – like for the upkeep of the place or something, I’m fine with paying! Though honestly, I think the fee itself would deter me from coming back – and the fact that photography isn’t even allowed inside to boot haha. ;;
      Also, thanks! I had tons of fun and I’d really love to go back to the UK. There’s still so many places I haven’t seen! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Siyana

        In Scotland, we don’t pay for anything – museums, churches, etc. – everything is free and there’s a huge box for donations, and trust me, they are always full! xx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Nicole Post author

        I’ve been to Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum (will post about it soon! c: ) in Glasgow and I’m still amazed how there’s no entrance fee to get in to such a beautiful place! Amazeballs! ❤ Anyway, I agree it's better to have fees waived and instead establishments like churches and museums should just have donation boxes – chances are people would shell out money anyway, especially if one really enjoyed his/her visit! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Siyana

        Kelvingrove is one of the most fascinating buildings, in my opinion. I’m so lucky to have the chance to visit it all the time, as I live not far away from it. Can’t wait to read your post! xx

        Like

Leave a Reply

