Mehl & Zucker, Cebu

Whenever I’m in Cebu for food options, I usually just go to malls such as SM and Ayala, and of course, IT Park. However, during my last visit, I had felt a bit more adventurous, and with the help of foodie apps such as Zomato and Looloo, I discovered a lot of new food places. One of the gems I found would be Mehl & Zucker – a quaint little artisan bakery and coffee shop located in Banilad.

mehl-zucker-10

mehl-zucker-8

I love the whole feel of the place. The ambiance really gives quite an elegant feel. Not to mention the service is really nice and efficient as well!

mehl-zucker-11

mehl-zucker-12

They serve all-day breakfast as well as sandwiches. But being a bakery, I think the main appeal of Mehl & Zucker would have to be the pastries they have on display – and they have a lot!

mehl-zucker-13

Being a German-inspired bakery, of course they sell pretzels! They have two types: Laugen and beer pretzel.

mehl-zucker-9

They also have macaroons! Didn’t get to try them, although, for me they do look a bit dry.

mehl-zucker-7

They also have cakes too, although, at the time of my visit, they didn’t have much on display.

mehl-zucker-6

Their Chocolate Rose Gateau cake did catch my eye – a bit pricey, but look at that beauty! Hehe, would have loved to buy it but I don’t think I’d have the heart to actually eat this beauty.

mehl-zucker-5

A peek at the interior of the place.

mehl-zucker-4

We got their almond croissant, which was quite good.

mehl-zucker-3

Opera cake! Really liked this, the sweetness was just right for me.

mehl-zucker-2

I got their pretzel, but I thought it was too hard, haha. I’ve been spoiled by the pretzels from Auntie Anne’s, and I think I still prefer that over this one, though this might be more ~authentic~.

mehl-zucker-1

I forgot what this one is called, but I didn’t try it so I don’t really know if it’s good or not, haha.

They also have free wi-fi here, the speed of their connection is alright, just like in any other coffee shop. I do, however, love their bathroom! It was so clean and, haha, if a bathroom can be called pretty, that’s how I’d describe it. Didn’t take a photo of it, though. Anyway, if you’re in the Banilad area and you’re just looking for a place to chill or what, I think you should consider Mehl & Zucker as one of the places that you can go to.

Mehl & Zucker is located at Streetscape, Ma. Luisa Road, Banilad 6000 Cebu City.

 

 

Leave a Reply

