Balducci, BGC

I’ve been to Serendra a bunch of times over the years, but I’ve never tried out Balducci. It has quite a swanky vibe to it that it’s almost intimidating. However, as I was trawling through various food apps, I was able to browse through their menu and saw that though not exactly cheap, the prices are actually pretty decent, what with the quality of food that they are sure to be offering. That, and seeing that it has quite a number of good reviews, I was determined to try it out! Luckily, I had the chance to do so last month.

The place has dim lighting, so my photos might not really do justice to the food, haha. Also, now that I think of it, I should have probably taken photo of the interior of the place! ;www;

dscf5984

Before anything else, they first served us their basket of warm complimentary bread. I think that’s one of the things I love about most Italian restaurants: the complimentary bread. Balducci’s basket contains several different types of bread, but all of them are really good, I can’t decide on a favourite! (ノ^∇^)

dscf5986

The various spreads you can eat with their complimentary bread. You have the usual butter, liver spread (Not sure if that’s what it is because I didn’t try it out, but the liver spread I’m referring to is the brown one), and tomatoes.

dscf6010

For appetizers, we had their calamari, though this came with shrimp too aside from the squid. It was just okay, although, honestly speaking, this was probably the dish that I didn’t really appreciate the most during our visit as I found it to be quite bland for my liking.

dscf6013

We also got their Filetto di salmone in padella allo spumante (Fresh salmon sautéed with Italian sparkling spumanted served with asparagus and spinach). I didn’t try this one, as I’m not really fond of fish, but my companions did like it, and finished it as well, so it must be good.

dscf6015

We also had steak, but looking through the menu, I can’t recall its name exactly, but I think we got their Filetto di manzo con fegato d’oca in salsa tartufata con spinaci e asparagi (Certified Angus Beef Tenderloin in our truffle sauce embedded with pan-fried Foie Gras and served with fresh spinach and asparagus). I love that the beef was so tender and flavourful! The sauce only accentuated its yumminess for me. I also liked the potatoes and spinach that came with it, although I’d like if it was accompanied with more slices of potatoes though, haha.

dscf5998

Again, same goes for this one, I’m not sure what it’s called, but I think we got their Spaghetti al Ragu Toscano (Spaghetti in meat sauce, Toscana style). This pasta was quite delicious, although rather plain. Would probably skip this next time and order something else in its stead.

dscf6003

I think this is a special order of ours -we wanted a vongole type of pasta, and thus this pasta dish was born. Clams and shrimp + white wine sauce + pasta = yummy!

Pro tip: you can actually request for them to make a pasta dish off-menu, you just have to tell them what ingredients you want to be used and they’d be happy to do it for you!

dscf6007

Taglierini al profumo di tartufo in camicia di prosciutto (Thin egg noodles in our truffle sauce wrapped in prosciutto). I really enjoyed this dish. For me, the prosciutto really complimented the richness of the cream sauce.

dscf5997

For pizza, we got their Rustica-Mozzarella, funghi, cipolla, salsiccia e rosmarino (Fresh white Mozzarella with mushrooms, onions, Italian sausage & rosemary). This is one of their Pizza Bianca, that is it is white sauce based. This is the closest thing in their menu to an all-meat pizza variant. It’s just okay for me, but I still prefer red sauce based pizzas.

dscf5994

We actually ordered two pizzas, and the other one was this! Like their pasta, you can actually request for a special order of their pizza. This is off their menu, and I guess it has been requested often as our server called it ‘Little Italy’. I’m in love with this pizza, and being the glutton that I am, I actually ate 4 slices, haha.

Service is great! Our server was really all smiles, and the food was served in a prompt manner too. Once I was done being intimidated with the place (lol), I found that I actually liked the whole ambiance of the place. Definitely one of the restaurants that I’d love to come back to sometime soon!

Balducci is located at Ground Floor, Serendra, Bonifacio Global City, Taguig City.

Leave a Reply

