Snapshot: Wan Chai, Hong Kong

Well, here’s my first post of the year! Admittedly, it’s already quite late, but I’ve been feeling really lazy these days. Anyway, at least now my momentum’s back, haha! ( ´ ▽ ` )ノ

Anyway, I spent Christmas in Hong Kong, and thus, I have some backlog of posts I can’t wait to share with you all. Starting my HK mini-series with Wan Chai, HK, as that’s the part of Hong Kong where we stayed for the duration of our last visit. ≧(´▽`)≦

dsc00147

dsc00149

View of Wan Chai from the footbridge near our hotel – on the other side of the bridge are restaurants – the nearest restaurants, I think, as aside from the hotel’s restaurants and Pacific Coffee.

dsc00150

I liked it here a lot! The restaurants aren’t actually local in the sense that they sell local cuisine, but they are restaurants that I think are unique to HK, as I haven’t heard of these brands here in the Philippines. There’s also a sort of ~mini mall~ besides this place, there you can find KFC and Starbucks, and more local restaurants.

dsc00151

Bought this onigiri (kobe beef, but honestly, it was too cheap to actually be kobe beef so I doubt its the real deal haha. ɾ⚈▿⚈ɹ) from one of the restaurants there; well, this one’s more like a stall than a restaurant.

dsc00153

In the mini mall (which isn’t really a mall, I just don’t know what to call it.), we ended up at Oliver’s Super Sandwiches.

dsc00156

The waiter gave us this, and we were surprised because we definitely did not order this! But he was stubborn, and insisted that it was our order. A few minutes later, he came back to take it away – without even apologising lol. Never mind, that wasn’t going to dampen our mood! We were on vacation and nothing can dampen our cheerfulness, hahaha. o(≧∇≦o)

dsc00157

Now this is our order. We ordered two cups of hot chocolate and 1 chocolate muffin.

dsc00165

dsc00166

dsc00167

It’s actually my first time to be staying in Wan Chai, as we usually stay in Tung Chung. I can’t help but ogle the pretty buildings here.

dsc00168

A few minutes walk and you’ll be greeted by this sight (as well as that of the exhibition centre that you can find in Wan Chai). Too bad that there’s construction going on, as I think the view would be nice here without it.

dsc00174

dsc00320

Anyway, finally!! Here’s our hotel for the duration of our December trip to HK. We stayed at Novotel Century.

dsc00175

View from our room.

dsc00135

I love the pastel colours of this building! ೭੧(❛▿❛✿)੭೨

dsc00134

dsc00136

Some photos of our room.

dsc00137

In the room, we had a Nespresso machine. Haha, I’ve actually been intimidated by these machines before as I thought that you have to pay if you use them, but after reading other blogs, I realise how silly I was! Anyway, it’s not an exaggeration to say that I used this almost everyday to make cups of coffee – not that I was the one to drink them though. ヾ(´▽`;)ゝ

dsc00139

Anyway, on our first day in HK, we immediately left our bags to find some grub to eat. We ended up in a little restaurant – suffice to say we were the only non-locals around! They actually have an English menu, but I wasn’t able to take a photo of it.

dsc00141

dsc00142

dsc00143

Food we ordered. The servings are actually quite huge, and they were really affordable too! I actually had a hard time finishing my order.

dsc00145

Local treats.

dsc00336

Anyway, this is the same place near our hotel (the one with all the restaurants), but at night. We went out to grab something to eat here.

dsc00339

We ended up at this restaurant. I was actually amazed by this heater thing, and at the same time, quite amused too. Anyway, I was thankful for the heat radiating off of it as I was feeling really cold what with the chilly weather and all. ー( ´ ▽ ` )ノ

dsc00341

Ordered an all-meat pizza. I think I still prefer the pizza made in the Philippines though.

dsc00350

dsc00342

We also got one pizza for takeout. Weird enough, the pizza we brought back to the hotel was far yummier than the one we had in the restaurant itself. It seemed less greasy, anyway.

dsc00344

On the way back to the hotel.

dsc00180

dsc00182

Novotel Century also has a fitness centre and pool. This is the view from the pool area.

dsc00184

dsc00185

The pool. No one was swimming though that may be because it probably isn’t allowed what with the weather being cold and all.

dsc00192

Woof! (❍ᴥ❍ʋ)

dsc00607

dsc00608

dsc00609

dsc00610

More food!! During our brief stay, we found this little restaurant near the tram stop that was nearby our hotel. We noticed that there didn’t seem to be much people around, so we ended up eating there. Twice in two different days haha. The food is really good! Very cheap too, as one bowl usually just costs around Hong Kong $39-45+ (249-287 Philippine Peso or equivalent to US $5.03-5.80). This is already really, really affordable and it was so filling too. As far as I remember, the price already includes 1 drink (coffee or tea. Not sure about softdrinks, but I think you need to add a little more).

dsc00416

dsc00419

View from a tram ride going back to Wan Chai. As far as I remember, these streets are still part of the Wan Chai district, haha.

dsc00434

Pacific Coffee!! Which is HK’s local version of Starbucks, I think, because they seem to have branches everywhere.

dsc00486

If you are going towards the tram stop, you will see this building adjacent to Novotel Century.

dsc00542

Cute Christmas tree decor!

dsc00653

No Pork. Haha, I noticed that there are a lot of sports car in HK, but this sports car is special, not only because it’s a Ferrari (I think!), but also because of its plate number! (❁´▽`❁)*✲゚*

 

Anyway, that’s where I’m going to end my post of Wan Chai. Not really that thorough though, as I wasn’t really able to explore the district that much. ;;

 

3 thoughts on “Snapshot: Wan Chai, Hong Kong

Leave a Reply

