Postojna Cave, Slovenia

As I was looking through my external HDs the other day, I was able to go through the photos I took during our last family trip to Europe two years ago. Seeing as at that time I didn’t really have a blog, once I posted my photos on Facebook they’ve been sitting idly on my HD, dusty and forgotten. Though I’m two years too late, I decided to post some of them on here! So, this is the first of several Euro-destionation posts! Better late than never, yeah? ⌒°(❛ᴗ❛)°⌒

Anyway, I’m going to start my Europe-related posts with Postojna Cave. Postojna Cave is  known as ‘Postojnska jama’ in Slovene. It’s 24,120 m long; the second longest cave system that can be found in the country. It is also one of the top tourist destinations that can be found in Slovenia. According to articles I’ve read about the place, the caves that can be found in Postojna Cave were made by the Pivka River.

img_8467

As we went back to the parking lot to be whisked off to another destination, we passed by this. I’m going to assume that it’s the Pivka River, haha.

postonja

Two years ago, I was already into photography – but not on the same level of ~like~ that I have for it now, so my photos are quite halfhearted if I’m to be honest. ;; Also. The dimension/size of the photo is weird because I cropped it – had to leave myself out of the photo haha! ˭̡̞(◞⁎˃ᆺ˂)◞*✰

img_8330

The entrance to the caves. The line was quite long but, surprisingly, we didn’t have to wait for too long. There were a lot of different nationalities there, but most were of European origin. I did remember seeing a group of rowdy Mainlanders, some of which were trying to cut in line – that did earn a bunch of grumbles from the others who were lining up properly. Anyway, before you get to fully enter, you’re stopped as you have to have your photo taken by their official photographer. You’re not actually forced to buy the photo, but you are forced to take it. Don’t know if that’s still the case today, but two years ago, that was how it was.

img_8336

Before you get to the caves, you’re going to have to take a ride on their cave train. Of course, common sense dictates that you don’t try to get off while the ride is in motion – or break a piece of stalactite – or is it stalagmite? Haha, I don’t know. ;;

img_8338

It was a welcome respite from the cold, being inside. The ride was actually nice and overall smooth from start to finish.

img_8341

I don’t even know why I still attempted to take photos in a moving vehicle, with no flash as flash photography is not allowed inside. Still, I think this is a pretty good shot (sans the heads lol). Sort of gives me a ~Back to the future~ kind of vibes.

img_8360

Last of the shaky ride photos.

img_8371

img_8376

img_8381

img_8403

I don’t really have much to say, but the place is huge! It was also awesome, to boot. There were a lot of other travel groups inside, and it’s reaaaallly easy to get separated from your group if you’re not careful.

img_8408

I googled it and I’m pretty sure those are stalactites. But feel free to correct me if I’m wrong. ;; Also, this is one of my favorite shots from our time inside Postojna Cave.

img_8412

img_8416

Our guide said that these formations might remind us of ice cream, and really, it did. Still does. Now I’m craving for some sweets. (。>ω<)。

img_8424

More caves.

img_8445

Not sure if we’ve just gone through there or if this is a whole new section altogether. I think if I were to get lost inside Postojna Cave… I’ll probably end up lost forever lol.

img_8451

Apparently, this vanilla ice cream lookalike is called ‘Brilliant’, and it’s the symbol of Postojna Cave.

Remember when I said that visitors are not allowed to take flash photography inside the caves? Well, some tourists did when we were there. Sad to say, mainly Asian tourists were doing this, most of which were old Japanese or Mainlanders. Now the grumbling from the other nationalities can really be heard. Anyway, I would have chalked this up to language barrier, but they had their own guide so I’m sure that they were also told that flash photography’s not allowed.

img_8458

The end is near! Before you take another ride back to the outside world, you can go inside the gift shop located inside the caves.

img_8462

There are apparently also rock climbing tours and other such daring adventure packages for those people who are into that sort of thing, haha.

img_8465

Proteus. Our guide said that they’re called as ‘human fish’. When I saw it, I didn’t really see the semblance though (\shot). I think that as the years go by, they are becoming rarer as their population decreases. That, and they are really sensitive to the changes in their environment.

Overall, we had a really nice time in Postojna Cave. Definitely can see why it’s one of the top tourist destinations in Slovenia.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Postojna Cave, Slovenia

  1. Love your photos and the post. Made me want to revisit Postojna cave. 🙂
    Just one thing… there is a typo – it’s PostoJNa Cave. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

