Brotzeit at The Fort, BGC

DSCF3419

We went to the Fort, BGC because originally, we were planning to eat at Pink’s Hotdog. However, seeing as their soft opening was going to start at 5 PM, and their ~real~ opening is tomorrow, we weren’t able to do so. Instead, we opted to go to Brotzeit, which is only doors away from Pink’s.

You might be wondering why there’s a photo of a chandelier. Well, long story short, we got lost and ended up inside the Shangri-la hotel.

DSCF3449

DSCF3451

During my uni days, I took German so I’m actually quite proud to say that I did understand this little comic strip! Anyway, here’s my translation.

“A beer please!”

“Cheers!”

“Yummy!”

“Another beer please!”

Yes, I know it’s really basic, but I’m still happy to know that I at least retained some knowledge of the German language. ( ̄▽ ̄)ノ

DSCF3433

From browsing through the web, I believe that this is their third branch, as well as their newest branch, having opened last April.

DSCF3438

They also have a bar where you can grab a pint of beer, or some other alcoholic drink. Anyway, from what I noticed in their menu, most of their beer are imported from Germany.

DSCF3454

I ordered the Brezen/Typical Bavarian Pretzel . It was a little too salty for my taste, but I think it would be nice to eat this with a cup of hot chocolate (or with beer, whichever you prefer).

DSCF3461

For our main meal, we ordered the Brotzeitplatte mit Ripperl/Brozeit Platter with Ribs (for 4 to 5 person). It includes a crispy oven pork knuckle, sausages, honey Bavarian pork ribs and two side dishes.

DSCF3458

Sausages. I’m not sure what particular sausages these are, but I’m pretty sure that included in this photo would be the following: Weisswurst, garlic pork sausages, and spicy chicken sausages.

What I’m sure of, however, is that there is quite a selection of sausages on this platter. Although, I did like the spicy chicken sausages the best. ∩(︶▽︶)∩

DSCF3459

The crispy pork oven knuckle. It looks really yummy, and it did remind us of a Filipino dish, the crispy pata. Though, it was actually kind of bland if you don’t dip it into sauce.

DSCF3457

The honey Bavarian pork ribs. I also liked this one. The meat was quite tender and easy to chew. Also,though honey was used, it wasn’t actually too sweet.

DSCF3462

The two free side dishes that came with the platter! You can choose your side dish, and I chose for us. One is Kartoffelpüree / Mashed potatoes, and the other is Kartoffelhappen/ Spicy Potato Wedges.

DSCF3465

On top of their mashed potato are fried onion rings. I actually liked their mashed potato as it was fine – the texture almost seemed to be the same as that of baby food, to be honest. (*・▽・*)

DSCF3466

Their spicy potato wedges, on the other hand, are, weirdly enough, not spicy at all.

DSCF3463

The last of our order was the Zweibelrostbraten/Grilled Flank Steak. It is grilled rosemary marinated flank steak with roasted potatoes and vegetables garnished with fried onions and peppered egg.

I love their gravy, and ended up asking for seconds, if I’m not mistaken, it’s red wine sauce. The meat was quite hard though, and it wasn’t well done. The inside was still pretty red. Still, it wasn’t so bad, though if ever I would go to Brozeit next time, I would definitely request for them to cook it well done.

All in all, Brotzeit gave us a very filling meal. I walked out of the restaurant with a heavy stomach. Their waiting time for the food is actually a bit slow, and the bill did take quite a while to reach our table, but all in all, our experience was a satisfactory one.

Anyway, there ends my ~*review*~ for Brotzeit. However, since I don’t really want to write a separate post for this, I’ll just include this one here.

After our lunch, we went to the opposite side of the street from Shangri-la and saw some very familiar icons.

DSCF3470

The Singaporean Merlion.

DSCF3492

The Eiffel Tower.

DSCF3510

 

We went inside the mall (one of the very many malls in Bonifacio High Street – this one was right across Shangri-la the Fort) and had dessert at Kitchen’s Best by Chef Roselyn, a little stall we found inside the mall.

DSCF3513

Such details, much wow.

We ordered the Snickers Cheesecake, and I love the combination of Snickers, cheesecake, and chocolate chips. I’m not fond of sweets, so it was odd that I actually found the sweetness level to be just right. Then again, I do love cheesecakes, so.. 」( ̄▽ ̄」)

Brotzeit is located at 5th Ave, Taguig, Metro Manila, Philippines.

 

Edited this piece because instead of writing ‘brotzeit’, I wrote ‘brozeit’ instead. Typo, whoops.

Anyway, I wasn’t able to include this info so.. Did you know that ‘brot’ means bread and ‘zeit’ means time? Brotzeit is the German expression equivalent to that of saying ‘come on, let’s have a snack!’

 

2 thoughts on “Brotzeit at The Fort, BGC

Leave a Reply

