Art Fair Philippines 2016

Art Fair Philippines was held last February 18 to 21 at the Link Carpark located at Ayala Avenue, Makati. The first Art Fair was held in 2013, but this was my first time to go.

I do realise that this is a very late post, but better late than never! ( ´ ▽ ` )ノ

DSCF0134

As this was my first time to go to the event, I wasn’t sure what to expect – most importantly, if we were even allowed to take photos of the artwork there. Though unsure, I ended up taking my camera along with me, and good thing I did. As soon as we entered, I saw various people of all ages (but mostly millennials like me lol) taking photos with their gadgets – phones, heavy DSLR cameras and what have you.

I’ve been searching for blogs and sites that would have photos of this year’s Art Fair, but I couldn’t really find any, so I decided that even if this was really late, I might as well post it for those that are curious as to what one can find if they did go – and if they’re planning on going to next year’s Art Fair.

DSCF0141

DSCF0142

DSCF0149

DSCF0152

DSCF0156

Little details from the piece. I think that every time you look at it, you’d be able to notice something new.

DSCF0169

DSCF0170

DSCF0178

DSCF0183

This part of the exhibit was definitely one of my favourites. I love this collection, although, I did have difficulty with taking photos as this part of the exhibit was held in a dark room (with eerie music playing in the background), and I couldn’t exactly use flash – nor did I want to, as I think that wouldn’t really capture the ‘essence’ of these pieces.

DSCF0184

DSCF0199

DSCF0200

There was also this corner where you can make your own art with a coin. You shade the coin and then accompany it with words or doodles.

DSCF0205

DSCF0206

DSCF0211

This reminds me so much of the verse Romans 8:31 which states (NKJV): “What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us?” Which makes me cringe a lot as I’ve read Mary I (or also known as Bloody Mary) of England also used this verse for her own benefit.

DSCF0215

DSCF0225

DSCF0228

DSCF0234

If you don’t look closely, you might think that this is a photo, but it’s a painting.

DSCF0236

This one’s a painting too!

DSCF0235

DSCF0244

DSCF0252

DSCF0253

DSCF0254

DSCF0255

DSCF0266

There were also walls with a lot of small paintings on them.

DSCF0267

The pieces that caught my eye amongst other small paintings.

DSCF0278

!!! This clock! It’s so beautiful. ೭੧(❛▿❛✿)੭೨

DSCF0285

DSCF0289

DSCF0303

DSCF0326

This is probably the most popular piece in the whole Art Fair exhibit. I’ve seen lots of photos of this piece on Instagram and Facebook.

DSCF0333

DSCF0233

The outside…

DSCF0334

And there’s actually an inside! Blurry photo is blurry.

DSCF0335

A better photo. ɾ⚈▿⚈ɹ

DSCF0342

DSCF0347

Smol man is small, and yet manages to look big in photos. I love how detailed this sculpture/doll(?) is! In fact, the artist who created it was there, and wow, even if I’m no expert in art, I think he really did a good job. How did I know? Well, it looks like him. 100%. (๑꒪▿꒪)*

DSCF0345

We only dallied around the event for an hour or two, and I think I’ve missed some interesting pieces but I think that going to the Art Fair was definitely worth it! It was nice seeing students, children, and all sorts of people – locals and foreigners alike –  admiring art pieces, and I’m already pumped up for next year. (❁´▽`❁)*✲゚*

 

 

3 thoughts on “Art Fair Philippines 2016

  1. Pingback: Art Fair Philippines 2017 | #ArtFairPH | Travel & Food

Leave a Reply

