Oh deer me. Nara Park

DSCF1008

One of the places that was part of our itinerary that I had really been looking forward to visiting would be the Deer Park located in Osaka. I don’t know, but for me, there’s a certain allure to being able to see, and hopefully pet, a deer.

DSCF1011

We spotted this construction of a boat. I wasn’t really sure what it was for, but it did look quite interesting, enough that it merited quite a few shots.

DSCF1023

As you walk further along, you can also visit the Todai-iji Temple, which is a century old wooden structure. The temple houses the Great Buddha. As you can see here, the cherry blossom tree near the temple is already in bloom. This is one of the few cherry blossom trees that I have seen during our trip.

DSCF1025

An ‘artsy’ shot, haha.

DSCF1031

Cherry blossom! Sakura! Admittedly, I was a bit disappointed that we only saw a few sakura trees in bloom.

DSCF1036

A closer shot of Todai-iji Temple.

DSCF1037

The Japanese has the belief that before you go in Todai-iji (and most other temples too, I think.), you should first rinse your mouth and wash your hands so as to ‘purify’ yourself.

This can be found outside the temple on the right hand side near the exit. It’s the statue of Binzuru. According to the Japanese, if you rub a part of the image of Binzuru and then rub the same part of your body, then whatever ailment that you feel on that part of your body will go away. I actually wanted to try and test this theory out, but seeing as during our visit there was no one who did that.. Well, I didn’t want to stick out like a sore thumb. That, and I might end up accidentally breaking this 18th century wooden statue that hails back to the Edo period, haha.

DSCF1047

Due to the lack of time, and the fact that I wanted to spend more time with the deers roaming around, I wasn’t able to go around the temple. Still, at least I was able to get an okay shot of the Great Buddha that can be found inside Todai-iji.

DSCF1081

It seems as though that during our visit, it was the shedding season of the deers. Or at least I think so. Anyway, there really are a lot of deers that can be found loitering around the park. Actually, they aren’t tamed according to some signs that can be found in the park. The deers are considered to be wild, so one is advised to still express some caution when dealing with them. Still, how can you be frightened by that cute face? I did, however, witness some people being chased by hordes of deers, especially if they bought deer crackers, which is sold around the area. You can get around a set of 7 or so crackers that you can give to the deers for only 100 yen.

A hungry deer. Imagine that it’s your jacket that this deer is chewing on. (cue the shudders)

DSCF1100

Sleepy deer!

DSCF1102

As we made our way back to the bus, I was able to get this shot. Wacky post, anyone? 🙂

DSCF1103

Bye-bye, deer!

DSCF1105

After our trip to the Deer Park and Todai-iji Temple, we were supposed to head out to Osaka Castle for a brief stop to get some photos. However, our bus broke down so that idea was scrapped. Instead, we took the train and went to Shinsaibashi. Our tour guide was with us, and as a group, we went from Umeda Station to Shinsaibashi Station, but I think most of us made our own way back to to hotel. I wasn’t able to take photos in Shinsaibashi, and I’ll make sure that I do next time, if ever I’m able to go back, anyway. I was hoping to go to Nipponbashi, or DenDen Town as it is sometimes referred to, but we lacked the time to do so.

 

One thought on “Oh deer me. Nara Park

  1. Pingback: 2016 Year Ender | Travel & Food

Leave a Reply

