Kiyomizu-Dera Temple in Kyoto

DSCF0841

During our trip to Japan, we were able to go on a side trip to Kyoto, though we were only able to go to the Kiyomizu-Dera Temple. I was hoping to go to Fushimi Inari-Taisha, which had been made famous by the movie, Memoirs of a Geisha. That, or stop by Arashiyama, which I had seen a lot of photos of. However, since we had joined a group tour, we had to stick to the schedule that was given to us. On the other hand, at least now I do have more reasons to go back to Japan! 🙂

DSCF0865

Again, I was able to spot some women wearing colourful kimonos. According to our guide, in Japanese culture, if the woman’s kimono is colourful, then that means that she is still single. However, if her kimono’s isn’t colourful (for example, it is mainly coloured red or any other colour), then that means that she is married already.

DSCF0867

I think written on these plaques are wishes made by people who visited the temple.

DSCF0875

A torii (gate) of Jinshu-jinja. Apparently, it’s a matchmaking shrine. I was curious as to what was inside, but I didn’t think it was a shrine for matchmaking. If only I had known at the time, I would definitely have gone in, haha! Looking back, I think this is where the famous pair of “love stones” are located as I wasn’t able to see them during my visit. According to the Japanese, if you are able to go from one stone and reach the other with your eyes closed, then you will be able to find true love.

DSCF0881

As we walked, we continued to see women in beautiful kimonos.

DSCF0895

Kiyomizu-dera Temple.

DSCF0896

An Otowa-no-taki. There are three mini ‘waterfalls’ here. One is for wealth, one is for health, one is for wisdom. According to our guide, in Japanese culture, you can choose two and drink the water there and, for example, if you chose health and wisdom, then you will achieve that. However, you cannot drink from all three, as that would be greedy, and the gods won’t grant any of your wishes.

DSCF0897

A closer view. Too bad the cherry blossoms where not yet in bloom, it would have been a prettier sight.

DSCF0914

Same goes for this one, although at least there are some sakura already in bloom.

In the photos, it doesn’t look as though there are many people, but I assure you, there had been many people there when we went.

DSCF0939

As you go down from the temple, or if you go up to the temple even, be ready to jostle with a lot of people. Before reaching Kiyomizu-dera Temple, you have to go through a narrow street that is full of shops. There are assorted merchandise and items for sale there, even food. Like this soft ice cream, which is only being sold for 300 yen. I wasn’t able to try it, but it did look very appealing!

DSCF0940

Kimonos for sale. I think there are also samurai swords for sale, though I can’t imagine how you can get that through customs.

DSCF0942

There were also a lot of fans for sale! These, I think, are one of the cheapest. I saw some fans that sold for as high as 5,000 yen.

DSCF0945

Some souvenirs you can take home with you, sakura-inspired snacks.

There’s a store that mainly sold Hello Kitty items. You can also take photos with this huge Hello Kitty.

DSCF0979

As we made our way to the parking lot, I also saw this store that sold anime merchandise. I wasn’t able to look around not having the time. Anyway, can you see the hidden Nozomi? 🙂

DSCF0981

Takoyaki!! I’ve always wanted to try it as I often see it in anime/manga. I bought this for 500 yen.

We were supposed to go to  Sanjūsangen-dō Temple but by the time we arrived it was already close, since there was heavy traffic going out of Kiyomizu-Dera. Anyway, that’s it for our Kyoto trip. It was short, but it was definitely memorable.

3 thoughts on “Kiyomizu-Dera Temple in Kyoto

Leave a Reply

